Skip to main content
Trainees / Students

Trainees / Students

The goal of the BMFMS is to improve standards of pregnancy care and trainees have a vital role to play in achieving this. The two trainee representatives on the BMFMS committee represent trainees’ views and promote ways in which the society can support their needs. The BMFMS provides educational events which support training, as well as funding for research and travel grants. The trainee representatives want to ensure trainees and medical students benefit from society membership, become fully involved in society activities and can contribute to its success.

The trainee representatives play an active role in committee meetings and the organisation of the conference, including a session designed specifically for trainees. They are also involved on an annual basis in the RCOG careers fair which provides junior doctors and medical students with the opportunity to explore the career opportunities afforded by obstetrics and gynaecology.

The trainee representatives are initially elected to a three-year term of office. Any trainee who is a member of the BMFMS can stand for election in this position.

At present the trainee representatives are Dr Sarah Murray and Dr Adalina Sacco.


Dr Sarah Murray is a subspecialty trainee in Maternal and Fetal Medicine in Edinburgh and a SCREDS Clinical Lecturer in Obstetrics at the University of Edinburgh. Between 2016-2019 she undertook a Wellcome trust Clinical Research fellowship investigating the optimum timing of delivery of twins alongside a MSc in Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. She is a past vice chair of the UK RCOG trainees committee and chair of the South East Scotland trainees committee.



Dr Adalina Sacco is a subspecialty trainee in maternal fetal medicine at UCLH and NIHR academic clinical lecturer at University College London’s Institute for Women’s Health. Between 2017 and 2019 she took time out of programme to undertake an MD in fetal surgery under the supervision of Professor Anna David, Professor Donald Peebles and Professor Jan Deprest. She also has an interest in clinical leadership and is the past Chair of the RCOG National Trainees’ Committee.


If you wish to contact one of the trainee representatives directly about training issues then please email them on or